Fondo de Garantía de Depósitos de Entidades de Crédito

Spanish scheme for guaranteeing deposits held by credit institutions

Governing Bodies

The Fund will be governed and managed by a Management Committee comprising 11 members: a representative from Spain's Ministry of Economy and Business, one from the country's Ministry of Finance, four appointed by the Bank of Spain, and five designated by the associations representing the member credit institutions, under the terms set forth in regulations.

The Ministry of Economy and Business representative will be the General Secretary of the Treasury and International Finance, who will act as the Management Committee's Deputy Chairperson, and will stand in for the Chairperson if this post is vacant, or if the individual occupying it is not present or ill.

The Ministry of Finance representative will be the State General Comptroller.

The Bank of Spain representatives will be appointed by its executive committee, and one of these representatives will be the Deputy Governor of the central bank, who will serve as the Management Committee's Chairperson.

Three of the representatives of the member institutions will be appointed by the associations representing banks, one by those representing savings banks, and one by those representing credit cooperatives, under the terms set forth in regulations.

Composition of the Management Committee of the Deposit Guarantee Fund for Credit Institutions

(Established in accordance with Royal Decree-Law 16/2011 of 14 October)

Ms. Margarita Delgado Tejero
Deputy Governor of the Bank of Spain
Deputy Chairperson:
Mr. Carlos San Basilio Pardo
General Secretary of the Treasury and International Finance
Mr. Francisco Javier Priego Pérez
General Secretary of the Bank of Spain
Full members:
Mr. Pablo Arellano Pardo
State General Comptroller
Mr. Pello Xabier Belausteguigoitia Mateache
Country Manager Spain of Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria, S.A.
Mr. José Doncel Razola
Chief Financial Accounting and Control Officer of Banco Santander, S.A.
Mr. Xabier Egibar Gainza
General Manager of Caja Laboral Popular, Cooperativa de Crédito
Mr. Ángel Estrada García
Director General of Financial Stability, Regulation and Resolution of the Bank of Spain
Mr. Isidro Fainé Casas
Chairman of the Spanish Confederation of Savings Banks (CECA)
Mr. José María Méndez Álvarez-Cedrón
General Manager of CECABANK, S.A.
Ms. Mercedes Olano Librán
Director General for Banking Supervision of the Bank of Spain